Numero Group: By The Numbers


Codeine: What About The Lonely
January 7, 2013, 10:19 am
Filed under: Codeine, Newsworthy, Record Store Day

Codeine_Live_Front

Following in the snow tracks of When I See The Sun, our massive, near-complete Codeine overview, comes What About The Lonely, an eight song LP recorded at the group’s live zenith. Captured direct from the mixing board at a stop on Codeine’s November 1993 swing through the Midwest opening for Mazzy Star,  the album finds the trio of Stephen Immerwahr, John Engle, and Doug Scharin running through their hits at Chicago’s notorious Lounge Ax for a crowd of chatty 120 Minutes fans. Gastr Del Sol’s David Grubbs joins for two songs on guitar, slinking on and off the two foot stage with little fanfare, but leaving an indelible mark on the performance.

Constructed for Record Store Day 2013, What About The Lonely will be issued as a one-time pressing of 2000 150 gram LPs.


26 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Uhhhh Kickass!!!! Of course the first question we’re all going to ask. Will this be included in the sub?

Comment by Sam

Not included in the subscription. People were down on WTNG last year, so we decided to keep the subscription titles in our safety zone.

Comment by numerogroup

Will Subscribers at least be able to order it through your site and use their discount, since it isn’t getting added to the vinyl sub?

Comment by Kev

We’ll squirrel a few copies away for mailorder customers.

Comment by numerogroup

Cool.

Comment by Kev

Ok. I know this is for record store. And no doubt I will be in a record store that day. But I can not leave it to chance to buy this record on record store day. Can I pre order it from you guys? Please.

Geoff Hoover Asbury Park

Sent from my iPad

Comment by Geoff Hoover

We can’t guarantee that there will be any real quantity left over post-RSD. What we do post up will be first come, first served.

Comment by numerogroup

[...] nuevo álbum cimentado en un directo de los Stephen Immerwahr, John Engle y Doug Scharin en 1993. “What About The Lonely” recupera 8 canciones grabadas en el Lounge Ax de Chicago, correspondientes al repertorio de Codeine [...]

Pingback by Numero Group prepara más material inédito de Codeine...

I hope you could keep a copy for me over in New Zealand, we don’t really have access to RSD releases over here and it would sit with my box set very nicely..

Comment by Bill

[...] honor of Record Store Day 2013, The Numero Group will release a vinyl pressing of the Codeine concert set, What About The Lonely. The live LP will be limited to [...]

Pingback by Modern Vinyl – Live set from Codeine being pressed

Great, more crap!

Comment by Dan Kiley

[...] Codeine – “What About The Lonely” [live LP] (4/20 – Record Store Day – via Numero Group) [...]

Pingback by [Future Faves?] Anticipated 2013 Album Releases : Bradley's Almanac

Is any store in Australia getting these in?

Comment by Nick

We’ll post the full list of stores the week before RSD. We deal with a handful of Australian stores directly—encourage yours to reach out.

Comment by numerogroup

Hello,
I’m Riccardo from Italy I hope you could keep a copy for me!!!

Comment by Riccardo

Fuck RSD and the horse it rode in on.

Comment by Julian

Hello,
I’m Sten from Germany I hope you could keep a copy for me!!!

Comment by Sten

I’m trying to get this in UK through independent record stores I buy a lot of music from regularly. No joy so far, so, I hope you guys at Numero can help out. I would like this to sit alongside my ‘when I see the sun box set’ from 2012. I had to buy that one in Boston USA on a business trip from UK. Also, any sign of a CD release as with the 3 studio albums…

Comment by Martin Atkinson

Martin- Check this space shortly for details on where you can buy WATL?

Comment by numerogroup

Thanks, meantime I’ve ended up buying from a dealer in California at a hugely inflated price plus I’ve taken a hit on shipping and will get stung by UK HMRC (customs & excise) and post office (handling charge) when these land at my door. Oh well – live & learn. Happy to have LP and CD though!!

Comment by Matin Atkinson

well, usual Record Store Day bullshit for me…. my local shop was sent ONE copy, that had to be raffled off. Suffice to say I WASN’T the lucky winner!

Could you tell me why you would press so few? when you know the demand will be so much higher? I’m certainly not elitist, but I have been collecting records for a long long time and this sort of practice really pisses me off.

I love what you are doing, just not the manner in which you do it!

…I think i’m just bitter, I agree with Julian’s comment above.

Comment by Benj

2000 is a very appropriate number for a Codeine live album. THe proof is in the fact that we still have copies for sale here: http://www.numerogroup.com/catalog_detail.php?uid=01502

Comment by numerogroup

Hello,
bought the vinyl version on amazon.de
They still have 3 copies:

Comment by Riccardo

Can My local record store order a copy for me? I’m in the UK and don’t like the idea of having to pay $24 shipping!

Comment by Benj

Mailorder only at this point. You can always buy more items to lower your shipping total.

Comment by numerogroup




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 9,896 other followers

